Gentests von DNA

Nachstehend sind einige Labors aufgeführt, die DNA-Tests zum Nachweis von Blauzapfenmonochromasie anbieten.

Wenn das Vorliegen von Blauzapfenmonochromasie klinisch nachgewiesen wurde, gibt es zahlreiche Gründe, die für einen DNA-Test sprechen, beispielsweise, um eine genetische Bestätigung der Diagnose zu erhalten, um die wissenschaftliche Forschung bei der Suche nach sämtlichen krankheitsauslösenden, genetischen Mutationen zu unterstützen sowie um Informationen über mögliche experimentelle Therapien zu erhalten, deren Erfolg häufig von der individuellen genetischen Mutation abhängt.

Die genetische Bestätigung ist wichtig, um den Erbgang der Krankheit in der eigenen Familie nachzuvollziehen und einschätzen zu können, wie hoch die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Vererbung der Krankheit an die nachfolgende Generation ist.
Eine Einführung in das Thema Gentest finden Sie auf der Website „Fighting Blindness“-Stiftung oder in folgenden Artikeln:

Genetic Testing for Inherited Eye Disease: Why, How, and Who

Recommendations for Genetic Testing of Inherited Eye Diseases

Gentests werden entweder von klinischen Labors oder Forschungslabors durchgeführt:

Klinisches Labor
In einem solchen Labor werden Proben untersucht und die Ergebnisse werden einem Augenarzt zur Erstellung einer klinischen Diagnose oder Behandlung der Krankheit vorgelegt. In den USA müssen Labors, die klinische Untersuchungen durchführen, die zur Behandlung herangezogen werden können, nach CLIA (Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments) autorisiert sein.

Forschungslabors
Ein Forschungslabor untersucht die Proben mit der Absicht, eine bestimmte Krankheit gründlicher zu erforschen und einen klinischen Test zu entwickeln. Manche Forschungslabors können das CLIA-Zertifikat in den USA erlangen.

Bislang werden viele Gentests von Forschungslabors durchgeführt, mit der Absicht, krankheitsauslösende Gene zu entdecken und deren Auswirkungen zu erklären, Gentherapien oder andere Behandlungsverfahren zu entwickeln und die Wechselwirkung zwischen Genetik und umweltbedingten Ursachen zu entdecken.
Die BCM Families Foundation hat deshalb für Blauzapfenmonochromasie ein Forschungszentrum als Referenzzentrum für DNA-Tests ausgewählt. Tatsächlich gibt es zahlreiche Blauzapfenmonochromasie auslösende, genetische Mutationen, die teilweise jedoch sehr schwer zu diagnostizieren sind, weshalb nicht alle klinischen Labors in der Lage sind, sie zu identifizieren.

Darüber hinaus möchte BCM Families Foundation zur Identifizierung aller Gene und aller Mutationen beitragen, die die Krankheit verursachen, wobei die Forschung sich auf die Untersuchung genetischer Proben im Forschungszentrum Tübingen konzentriert:

University Hospital Tübingen – Molecular Genetics Laboratory
University Hospital Tübingen – Molecular Genetics Laboratory

BCM Project

Contact:
Susanne Kohl, MSc, PhD
Email: susanne.kohl@uni-tuebingen.de
Phone: (+49) 70712980702
FAX: (+49) 7071295725

Anleitung zum Senden der Blutprobe für den DNA-Test.

Für den DNA-Test benötigt ein Labor normalerweise 2 × 5 ml venöses Blut für jede Person, entnommen in EDTA-Behältern, die per Kurier verschickt werden sollten. Blutproben können von einem örtlichen Arzt entnommen werden. Zur Aufbewahrung der Blutproben wird der Versand unter gekühlten Bedingungen empfohlen. Am einfachsten ist es, eine normale Schaumstoffbox mit einigen Kühlpackungen zu verwenden. Blutproben sollten nicht eingefroren werden. Wickeln Sie daher die Blutbehälter in etwas Taschentuch, bevor Sie sie in die Schaumstoffbox geben. Um ein Tropfen im Falle eines Bruchs der Rohre zu vermeiden, wird empfohlen, die Rohre in ein Kunststoffgehäuse zu wickeln.

Bei den Blutproben wird in der Regel Folgendes verlangt: Unterzeichnete Einverständniserklärungen für jede Person (für Minderjährige benötigen wir die Unterschrift beider Elternteile), Kopie der Ausweisdokumente für jede Person, Stammbaum der Familie, ärztlicher Untersuchungsbericht sowie Ausfüllen und Unterschreiben anderer Formulare, die für den Export benötigt werden.

In einigen Fällen trifft das Ergebnis nach 3-4 Monaten ein, während in anderen Fällen mehr Zeit erforderlich ist.

Adresse, an die die Proben versendet werden sollen:

Dr. Susanne Kohl
Tel + 49-7071-29-80702
E-Mail: susanne.kohl@uni-tuebingen.de
Molekulargenetisches Labor
Universitätsklinikum Tübingen
Elfriede-Aulhorn-Str. 5-7 D-72076 Tübingen – Deutschland

Dr. B. Wissinger
E-Mail: wissinger@uni-tuebingen.de

Bevor Sie die Blutproben senden, wenden Sie sich bitte an unseren Familienverband unter info@bcmfamilies.org

A guide on how to send the blood samples from USA:

Forms:

PATINFO_IRD_2018-DSGVO-engl-final
Commercial Invoice
Declaration

Andere Labore, die DNA testen können, um BCM zu diagnostizieren:

Europe
Radboud Medical Genetics Institute Route 848 PO box 9101 – 6500 HB Nijmegen The Netherland
DNA Test for Blue Cone MonochromacyContact:
University Medical Centre Nijmegen St Radboud
Department of Genetics, section Genome Diagnostics
Tel +31(0)24 36 13799
Fax +31(0)24 36 16658
E-mail: info@gdnm.nl
US – CLIA Approved
Molecular Vision Laboratory
Corporate Headquarters
1920 NE Stucki Ave, Suite 150
Hillsboro, OR 97006

 

503-227-3179
Fax: 503-227-3157
inquiry@mvisionlab.com

Molecular Vision Laboratory web page

 

Contact:
John Chiang, PhD, FACMG
Director, Molecular Vision Laboratory
1920 NE Stucki Ave, Suite 150
Hillsboro, OR 97006
Lab Tel: 503-227-3179
Cell: 503-8582674
Fax: 503-227-3157
Email: jchiang@mvisionlab.com
Website: www.molecularvisionlab.com
US – CLIA Approved
John and Marcia Carver Nonprofit Genetic Testing Laboratory University of Iowa
375 Newton Rd. 4111 MERF Iowa City, IA 52242
Carver Lab web site

 

Carver Lab doc

Contact:
Email: carverlab@uiowa.edu
Phone: 319-335-8270

DNA Test

Here are the laboratories offering the DNA test for Blue Cone Monochromacy.

If you have a clinical diagnosis of BCM, there are many reasons to perform a DNA test, for example, to have a genetic confirmation of the diagnosis, to help scientific research to find all the possible genetic mutations that lead to disease, to know possible experimental therapies that often depend on the particular genetic mutation that you have.

The genetic confirmation is important because a patient with BCM needs to understand how the disease spreads within his own family and what are the chances of passing the disease to his children.

For an introduction to the problem of genetic testing please consult the website of the Foundation Fighting Blindness or read the following articles:

Genetic Testing for Inherited Eye Disease: Why, How, and Who

Recommendations for Genetic Testing of Inherited Eye Diseases

The laboratories that perform the DNA test can be clinical or research laboratories:

Clinical
A clinical laboratory examines specimens and reports results to healthcare providers for the purpose of diagnosis, prevention, or treatment. In the United States, laboratories performing clinical tests, the results of which can be used for treatment, must be CLIA (Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments) approved.

Research
A research laboratory examines specimens for the purpose of
better understanding a medical condition and or developing a clinical test. Some research laboratories will obtain CLIA certification (in US) so their research findings can be shared with study participants.

To date, many genetic tests are carried out by research labs trying to discover the genes that cause disease and to explain their effect, to develop gene therapies or other treatments and explain the interaction between genetic and environmental causes.
For this reason, in the case of BCM, the BCM Families Foundation has chosen a research center as a reference center for the DNA test. Indeed, there are many genetic mutations that lead to the BCM, some are very difficult to diagnose, and not all clinical laboratories are able to identify them.

In addition, the BCM Families Foundation wants to promote the identification of all genes and all of the mutations that cause the disease, focusing research on genetic samples in a specialized center in Tübingen:

University of Tuebingen – Molecular Genetics Laboratory
University of Tuebingen Molecular Genetics Laboratory

BCM Project

Contact:
Susanne Kohl, MSc, PhD
Email: susanne.kohl@uni-tuebingen.de
Phone: (+49) 70712980702
FAX: (+49) 7071295725

Instruction on how to send the blood sample for the DNA test.

For the DNA test usually a laboratory needs 2×5 ml of venous blood for each individual, drawn in EDTA containers, that should be shipped by courier. Blood samples can be drawn by a local practitioner. For preservation of the blood samples, it is recommended the shipment under cooled conditions. Easiest way for that is to use a regular foam box with some cool packs. Blood samples should not be frozen, therefore please wrap the blood containers in some tissue before adding them to the foam box. In order to avoid dripping in case of breakage of the tubes it is recommended to wrap the tubes in a plastic casing.

With the blood samples it is usually requested to sent: signed consent forms for each individual (for minors we would require the signature of both parents), copy of identity documents for each individual, Family’s Pedigree, medical examination report and to fill and sign other forms reported needed for the export.

In some case the result arrives after 3-4 months in other cases it need more time.

Address where to ship the samples:

Dr. Susanne Kohl
Tel +49-7071-29-80702
E-mail: susanne.kohl@uni-tuebingen.de
Molekulargenetisches Labor
Universitätsklinikum Tübingen
Elfriede-Aulhorn-Str. 5-7 D-72076 Tübingen – Germany

Dr. B. Wissinger
E-mail: wissinger@uni-tuebingen.de

Before to send the blood samples please contact our families association at info@bcmfamilies.org

A guide on how to send the blood samples from USA:

Guide from USA by Jessica

Forms:

Consent Form
Commercial Invoice
Declaration

Other laboratories able to test DNA for BCM:

Europe
Radboud Medical Genetics Institute Route 848 PO box 9101 – 6500 HB Nijmegen The Netherland
DNA Test for Blue Cone Monochromacy Contact:
University Medical Centre Nijmegen St Radboud Genetics, Genomediagnostics
Tel: +31 (0)24 361 37 99 Fax: +31 (0) 24 361 66 58
Email: dna@umcn.nl
US – CLIA Approved
Molecular Vision Laboratory
Biomedical Research Building FL2
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd. Portland, OR 97239-3098 USA
Molecular Vision Laboratory web page Contact:
Director: John (Pei-Wen) Chiang, PhD, FACMG – Director
Email: JChiang@mvisionlab.com
Phone: 503-227-3179 Fax 503-227-3157
US – CLIA Approved
John and Marcia Carver Nonprofit Genetic Testing Laboratory University of Iowa
Carver Lab web site

Carver Lab doc

Contact:
Email: carverlab@uiowa.edu
Phone: 319-335-8270