tamaño de fuente


60 Seconds with Tom Rogers

Name: Tom Rogers

Age: 25

Where do you live? 

Crawley, West Sussex, UK

How many relatives do you have with BCM? 

To our knowledge, I potentially have three relatives, with BCM. One definitely (diagnosed, my eldest brother). But I also have 2 cousins (one is a baby so hasn’t been diagnosed specifically yet. The other is also mentally disabled so they are unable to conduct the tests).

What is your job/would you like your job to be? 

I currently work in the Gym Group, Crawley as the Assistant General Manager. I aspire to be a General Manager at some point down the line.

What are your hobbies? 

My hobbies include football, going to the gym and meeting with friends and family.

What is your most useful BCM tip? 

I don’t really have a useful tip unfortunately!

What would you tell younger BCM boys/your younger self?

I would tell my younger self of anyone growing up with BCM to strive to be independent and not to worry too much about feeling embarrassed if you can’t see something, etc. I was always so afraid to travel on my own in fear of getting lost. But I now travel independently all across the country for football or to meet friends, etc., and if I’m not sure on something I will ask, generally anyone you ask will help.

Greatest achievement/proudest moment so far…

My greatest achievement happened recently. I got the call up and opportunity to go to an England Development camp with the England Partially-Sighted team. I’ve always loved football so to have this opportunity is amazing! I’m now training and looking to, potentially, be in contention for a place in the World Games in August 2023.

Not many people know this about me but:

I’m sorry, I really can’t think of an interesting fact – I don’t do much else!