Génétique Moléculaire

Le monochromatisme à cônes bleus est une maladie génétique rare de la rétine causée par des mutations génétiques sur les gènes OPN1LW, OPN1MW et LCR. Ces gènes sont responsables de la production des photopigments rouge et vert à l’intérieur des cônes de la rétine et se trouvent sur le chromosome X.

Nous verrons sur cette page quels sont les gènes responsables de la vision de la couleur, quelles sont les mutations génétiques qui mènent à la maladie et l’histoire de ces découvertes scientifiques de génétique moléculaire.

L’association BCM Families Foundation soutient la recherche de génétique moléculaire sur le monochromatisme à cônes bleus et la création d’un Registre des Patients souffrant de monochromatisme à cônes bleus, en vue d’approfondir les connaissances sur les mutations génétiques qui sont à l’origine de la maladie.

Les gènes responsables de la vision de la couleur

Le monochromatisme à cônes bleus est causé par des mutations génétiques sur certains gènes qui se trouvent sur le chromosome X.

Le chromosome X est composé de deux bras: le bras supérieur (appelé p), le bras inférieur (q).
Les gènes impliqués dans le monochromatisme à cônes bleus se trouvent dans la position Xq28, à la fine du bras q.
La figure ci-après montre le chromosome X.

22

Dans la position Xq28 se trouvent, dans l’ordre, les gènes identifiés par les noms LCR, OPN1LW et OPN1MW.

LCR (du nom anglais Locus Control Région) est la région de contrôle du locus et agit comme promoteur de l’expression des deux gènes suivants. En l’absence de ce gène, aucun des deux gènes suivants n’est exprimé dans la rétine humaine.
En outre, la LCR assure qu’un seul des deux gènes opsine (rouge ou vert) soit exprimé de manière exclusive dans chaque cône.

OPN1LW et OPN1MW sont les gènes qui contiennent le code génétique pour les protéines opsines, c’est-à-dire les protéines qui constituent les photopigments pour la capture de la lumière, respectivement de couleur rouge (Long Wave = ondes longues) et de couleur verte (Medium Wave = ondes moyennes).

De nombreuses personnes ont plusieurs répétitions du gène relatif au photopigment vert, OPN1MW. Toutefois, seuls les deux premiers gènes, tout de suite après la LCR, sont exprimés dans la rétine, tandis que les répétitions suivantes ne sont pas exprimées. Par exemple, un homme caucasien aura dans 25% des cas un seul gène OPN1MW, dans 50% des cas il en aura 2 et dans les 25% restants, il en aura 3 ou plus.

Dans la figure ci-dessous, nous voyons une représentation de ces gènes lorsqu’il y a absence de mutations génétiques pathologiques.

Opsin Genes Array

Pour approfondir la connaissance de ces gènes, il est possible de consulter le site du «National Center for Biotechnology Information», NCBI:

OPSIN1-LW, photopigment des cônes rouges;

OPSIN1-MW, photopigment des cônes verts;

LCR, région de contrôle du locus.

Le gène responsable de la formation du photopigment bleu se trouve dans une position très éloignée, dans le chromosome 7, et le gène responsable de la formation de la rhodopsine (le photopigment des bâtonnets) se trouve sur le chromosome 3:

OPSIN1-SW photopigment des cônes bleus;

RODOPSIN photopigment des bâtonnets.

Dans la figure suivante, nous voyons les protéines opsines des cônes bleus «S» (short = court), verts «M» (medium = moyen) et rouges «L» (long).

OPSIN Genes
(
La figure est tirée du site <http://www.handprint.com/HP/WCL/color1.html>handprint.com)
.

Elles ont la forme d’une chaîne qui passe 7 fois à travers un disque du segment externe d’un cône. Les trois protéines sont très semblables entre elles et, en particulier, la M et la L diffèrent seulement par certains éléments. Les deux photopigments, le rouge et le vert, sont en effet égaux à 96%, tandis qu’ils ont une ressemblance de 46% seulement avec le photopigment bleu.

Les gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW, comme tous les gènes, sont formés d’exons et d’introns. Plus précisément, ces gènes possèdent 6 exons, numérotés de 1 à 6.

Opsin Gene Array - Exons

(La figure est tirée de l’ouvrage de Jessica C. Gardner, Michel Michaelides, Graham E. Holder, Naheed Kanuga, Tom R. Webb, John D. Mollon, Anthony T. Moore, Alison J. Hardcastle ‘Blue cone monochromacy: Causative mutations and associated phenotypes’ Molecular Vision 2009; 15:876-884).

Comme toutes les protéines, les opsines sont elles aussi des structures tridimensionnelles qui doivent effectuer un «repliement» (en anglais: folding) pour acquérir leur forme tridimensionnelle finale. Certains aminoacides présents à l’intérieur de la protéine sont responsables de ce repliement.

Les mutations génétiques

Il existe de nombreuses mutations génétiques susceptibles de frapper ce groupe de gènes: LCR, OPN1LW et OPN1MW.

Certaines mutations mènent des à conditions communément désignées sous le nom de «daltonisme» et dont le seul effet est l’impossibilité de distinguer certaines couleurs.

Les mutations menant au monochromatisme à cônes bleus identifiées jusqu’ici sont les suivantes :

Grandes délétions

1.
Délétion de la LCR, ou délétion de la LCR et d’une partie ou de la totalité des exons du gène OPN1LW.
Cette mutation correspond à l’absence d’une grande partie du matériel génétique. Le code génétique LCR n’étant pas présent, les deux protéines ne seront pas exprimées et les cônes seront donc dépourvus des photopigments rouge et vert.

2.
Délétion intragénique. Il s’agit d’une délétion d’exons à l’intérieur des gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW ou d’une délétion du matériel génétique du premier gène et d’une partie du second.
Cette mutation correspond elle aussi à l’absence d’une grande partie du matériel génétique.

BCM Mutationes

Mécanisme à 2 étapes avec recombinaison homologue et inactivation ponctuelle.
Dans ce cas, compte tenu de la ressemblance entre les deux gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW, lors d’un processus de «recombinaison homologue» l’un des deux gènes se perd et il se crée un nouveau gène, qui est hybride. Ensuite, une mutation ponctuelle rend inactif le gène qui est resté.
La mutation ponctuelle la plus connue est celle qui porte le nom de C203R. Le nom des mutations ponctuelles indique la position à laquelle est survenue la mutation (ici, la position 203) et l’aminoacide qui a été remplacé (ici, la cystéine C, remplacée par l’arginine R). Au niveau des codons, cette substitution est ponctuelle parce qu’elle équivaut à remplacer la thymine par la cytosine dans la position 648, comme nous pouvons le voir sur le tableau suivant:
17
Par effet de la mutation C203R, la protéine de l’opsine, une fois formée, n’effectue pas le repliement (ce qui signifie qu’elle n’acquiert pas la forme tridimensionnelle correcte).

C203R Mutation

(La figure est tirée de l’ouvrage de Jessica C. Gardner, Michel Michaelides, Graham E. Holder, Naheed Kanuga, Tom R. Webb, John D. Mollon, Anthony T. Moore, Alison J. Hardcastle ‘Blue cone monochromacy: Causative mutations and associated phenotypes’ Molecular Vision 2009 ; 15 :876-884).
Génotypes du monochromatisme à cônes bleus. Diagramme représentant les génotypes du monochromatisme à cônes bleus de 3 familles britanniques. La matrice opsine L-M de type sauvage est visible au sommet de la figure. Les cases grises représentent les exons d’opsine M. L’indice « n » représente un ou plusieurs gènes d’opsine M. La case noire représente la région de contrôle du locus LCR. La LCR était présente sans mutations dans les trois familles. Les mutations ponctuelles C203R détectées dans les familles 1 et 3 sont visibles au-dessus des exons correspondants. La famille 1 a un gène hybride inactif suivi d’un second gène dans la matrice. On peut voir entre parenthèses trois structures possibles de ce second gène inactif. La famille 2 a un seul gène hybride défectueux, dépourvu de l’exon 2. La famille 3 a un seul gène hybride inactif.

D’autres mutations ponctuelles sont les mutations P307L et R247X. Cette dernière, en particulier, remplace l’arginine par le codon Stop, interrompant prématurément à la position 247 la formation de la protéine (mutation non-sens).

Point mutations

(La figure est tirée de l’ouvrage de J. Nathans et al. Am. J. Hum. Genet. 53 : 987-1000, 1993).
Modèle de pigment rouge et de pigment hybride 5’ rouge – 2’ vert dans la membrane du photorécepteur, montrant les emplacements des mutations ponctuelles identifiées chez les patients atteints de monochromatisme à cônes bleus. Chaque cercle représente un aminoacide. « N » = terminaison amine et « C » = terminaison carboxyle. La terminaison amine fait face à l’espace extracellulaire.

Autres mutations

D’autres mutations sur les gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW menant au monochromatisme à cônes bleus sont constituées par un ensemble de mutations ponctuelles, appelées par exemple LIAVA. La personne aura le monochromatisme à cônes bleus si, comme dans le cas précédent, il se produit, par effet d’une recombinaison homologue, un unique gène mixte entre l’OPN1LW et l’OPN1MW et que l’exon 3 contient les aminoacides suivants dans les positions indiquées: Leucine 153, Isoleucine 171, Alanine 174, Valine 178 et Alanine 180. Ce génotype porte le nom abrégé de LIAVA.

LIAVA

(La figure est tirée de l’ouvrage de Mizrahi-Meissonnier L., Merin S., Banin E., Sharon D., 2010).
Emplacement des altérations des aminoacides reportées jusqu’ici dans les gènes d’opsine L et M. Zones ombrées: domaines transmembranaires. Cercles : différences entre aminoacides et polymorphisme connu avec l’aminoacide le plus commun (indiqué par un code à une lettre). Flèche: modification de l’aminoacide. Le nombre de codons est décrit pour chaque modification. Les changements faux-sens, associés à une maladie des cônes liée à l’opsine, susceptibles de causer des dysfonctionnements protéiniques sont indiqués sur fond gris. L’haplotype LIAVA est surligné en noir.

Gène
Mutation
Référence
OPN1LW et OPN1MW
2 étapes : mutation ponctuelle C203R + réduction à un unique gène opsine hybride
Nathans et al. 1989
Nathans et al. 1993
OPN1LW et OPN1MW
mutation ponctuelle P307L ou R247X + réduction à un gène opsine hybride
Nathans et al. 1993
LCR
délétion de la LCR ou de la LCR et des premiers exons de l’opsine LW
Nathans et al. 1989
Ayyagari et al. 2000
OPN1LW et OPN1MW
délétion intragénique ou délétion des gènes entre les opsines LW et MW
Ladekjack et al. 1996
A.Reitner, L.T. Sharpe, E. Zrenner 1991
OPN1LW et OPN1MW
LIAVA
Carroll J. et al. 2004
Mizrahi-Meissonnier L. et al. 2010
Neitz M. et al. 2004
Crognale MA. et al. 2004

 

Autres maladies comportant des mutations génétiques sur les gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW

Une autre maladie de la rétine associée à la position Xq28 est la maladie oculaire de Bornholm (BED – Bornholm Eye Disease), dont les symptômes sont similaires à ceux du monochromatisme à cônes bleus. Il s’agit d’une maladie très rare et stationnaire. Pour approfondir, on peut consulter OMIM et le site de l’Université de l’Arizona.

Enfin, rappelons qu’il existe également une mutation particulière des deux gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW qui cause une maladie différente du monochromatisme à cônes bleus. Il s’agit de la mutation de type «mauvais repliement» (en anglais: misfolding), W177R, qui, si elle est présente sur les deux gènes opsines, provoque la dystrophie des cônes avec évidence de dégénération et mort des cellules des cônes.

Histoire de la découverte des gènes du monochromatisme à cônes bleus

De nombreux chercheurs ont contribué aux découvertes concernant les gènes impliqués dans le monochromatisme à cônes bleus.

Rappelons les découvertes fondamentales de Jeremy Nathans sur les gènes responsables de la vision de la couleur:


Nathans, J., Thomas, D., Hogness, D. S. Molecular genetics of human color vision: the genes encoding blue, green, and red pigments. Science 232: 193-202, 1986. [PubMed: 2937147, related citations] [Full Text: HighWire Press]

Nathans, J., Piantanida, T. P., Eddy, R. L., Shows, T. B., Hogness, D. S. Molecular genetics of inherited variation in human color vision. Science 232: 203-210, 1986. [PubMed: 3485310, related citations] [Full Text: HighWire Press]

Nathans, J. Molecular biology of visual pigments. Annu. Rev. Neurosci. 10: 163-194, 1987. [PubMed: 3551758, related citations] [Full Text: Atypon]

Nathans, J. The evolution and physiology of human color vision: insights from molecular genetic studies of visual pigments. Neuron. 24: 299-312, 1999. [PubMed: 10571225, related citations] [Full Text: Elsevier Science]

Deeb, S. S. The molecular basis of variation in human color vision. Clin. Genet. 67: 369-377, 2005. [PubMed: 15811001, related citations] [Full Text: Blackwell Publishing]

En particulier, les travaux qui ont permis de comprendre les principales causes du monochromatisme à cônes bleus et notamment le processus à 2 étapes avec mutation ponctuelle C2013R:


Nathans, J., Davenport, C. M., Maumenee, I. H., Lewis, R. A., Hejtmancik, J. F., Litt, M., Lovrien, E., Weleber, R., Bachynski, B., Zwas, F., Klingaman, R., Fishman, G. Molecular genetics of human blue cone monochromacy. Science 245: 831-838, 1989. [PubMed: 2788922, related citations] [Full Text: HighWire Press]

Nathans, J., Maumenee, I. H., Zrenner, E., Sadowski, B., Sharpe, L. T., Lewis, R. A., Hansen, E., Rosenberg, T., Schwartz, M., Heckenlively, J. R., Traboulsi, E., Klingaman, R., Bech-Hansen, N. T., LaRoche, G. R., Pagon, R. A., Murphey, W. H., Weleber, R. G. Genetic heterogeneity among blue-cone monochromats. Am. J. Hum. Genet. 53: 987-1000, 1993. [PubMed: 8213841, related citations]

Reyniers, E., Van Thienen, M.-N., Meire, F., De Boulle, K., Devries, K., Kestelijn, P., Willems, P. J. Gene conversion between red and defective green opsin gene in blue cone monochromacy. Genomics 29: 323-328, 1995. [PubMed: 8666378, related citations] [Full Text: Elsevier Science, Pubget]

Un travail important pour les mutations de type «Délétion» de la LCR ou de la LCR et d’une partie du gène OPN1LW est:


Ayyagari, R., Kakuk, L. E., Bingham, E. L., Szczesny, J. J., Kemp, J., Toda, Y., Felius, J., Sieving, P. A. ‘Spectrum of color gene deletions and phenotype in patients with blue cone monochromacy’. Hum. Genet. 107: 75-82, 2000. Hum Genet. 2000 Jul;107(1):75-82.

Pour la délétion intragénique, rappelons les ouvrages suivants, qui identifièrent un cas de monochromatisme à cônes bleus avec présence du seul gène OPN1LW du photopigment rouge, mais avec absence de l’exon 4 de ce gène:


Ladekjaer-Mikkelsen, A.-S., Rosenberg, T., Jorgensen, A. L. ‘A new mechanism in blue cone monochromatism’. Hum. Genet. 98: 403-408, 1996.

Reitner, A., Sharpe, L. T., Zrenner, E. Is colour vision possible with only rods and blue-sensitive cones? Nature 352: 798-800, 1991.

En particulier, la fonction permettant l’expression exclusive d’une opsine (rouge ou verte) dans chaque cône a été découverte dans le dernier ouvrage.

Pour l’étude de la mutation C203R, rappelons:


Kazmi MA, Sakmar TP, Ostrer H. Mutation of a conserved cysteine in the X-linked cone opsins causes color vision deficiencies by disrupting protein folding and stablilty. Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science. 1997;38(6):1074–1081. [PubMed]

qui comprirent les effets négatifs de cette mutation sur le repliement des opsines et:


Winderickx J, Sanocki E, Lindsey DT, Teller DY, Motulsky AG, Deeb SS. Defective colour vision associated with a missense mutation in the human green visual pigment gene. Nature Genetics. 1992;1:251–256. [PubMed]

qui étudièrent cette mutation et sa fréquence d’environ 2% chez les personnes d’origine caucasienne.

Sur les mutations rares du type LIAVA, l’on peut consulter:


Carroll J1, Neitz M, Hofer H, Neitz J, Williams DR., ‘Functional photoreceptor loss revealed with adaptive optics: an alternate cause of color blindness.’ Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2004 Jun.

Mizrahi-Meissonnier L., Merin S., Banin E., Sharon D., 2010.

Neitz M, Carroll J, Renner A, et al. Variety of genotypes in males diagnosed as dichromatic on a conventional clinical anomaloscope. Vis Neurosci. 2004;21:205–216.

Crognale MA, Fry M, Highsmith J, et al. Characterization of a novel form of X-linked incomplete achromatopsia. Vis Neurosci. 2004; 21:197–203.

Certains ouvrages historiques pendant les premiers stades de la recherche sur le monochromatisme à cônes bleus ont été:


Huddart, J. An account of persons who could not distinguish colours. Phil. Trans. Roy. Soc. 67: 260 only, 1777.

Sloan, L. L. Congenital achromatopsia: a report of 19 cases. J. Ophthal. Soc. Am. 44: 117-128, 1954.

Alpern, M., Falls, H. F., Lee, G. B. The enigma of typical total monochromacy. Am. J. Ophthal. 50: 996-1012, 1960. [PubMed: 13682677, related citations

Blackwell, H. R., Blackwell, O. M. Rod and cone receptor mechanisms in typical and atypical congenital achromatopsia. Vision Res. 1: 62-107, 1961.

Fleischman, J. A., O’Donnell, F. E. Jr. ‘Congenital X-linked incomplete achromatopsia. Evidence for slow progression, carrier fundus findings, and possible genetic linkage with glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase locus’. Arch Ophthalmol 1981;99:468-472.

Lewis, R. A., Holcomb, J. D., Bromley, W. C., Wilson, M. C., Roderick, T. H., Hejtmancik, J. F. ‘Mapping X-linked ophthalmic diseases: III. Provisional assignment of the locus for blue cone monochromacy to Xq28′. Arch. Ophthal. 105: 1055-1059, 1987.

Pour l’étude de la dystrophie des cônes, une maladie dégénérative due à une mutation ponctuelle sur les deux gènes OPN1LW et OPN1MW:


Gardner, J.C., Webb, T.R., Kanuga, N., Robson, A. G., Holder, G.E., Stockman, A., Ripamonti, C., Ebenezer, N. D., Ogun,O., Devery, S., Wright, G.A., Maher, E. R., Cheetham, M. E., Moore, A. T., Michaelides, M. and Hardcastle, A. J.
X-Linked Cone Dystrophy Caused by Mutation of the Red and Green Cone Opsins.The American Journal of Human Genetics 87, 26–39, July 9, 2010.

Reportons également certains articles de revues qui illustrent le sujet:


Neitz J., Neitz M. ‘The genetics of normal and defective color vision’. 2011 Review. Vision Research.

Deeb, S.S. ‘Molecular Genetics of colour vision deficiencies’. Clinical and Experimental Optometry 87.4 – 5 July 2004.

Molecular Genetics

BCM is a rare genetic disease of the retina caused by genetics mutations on genes OPN1LW, OPN1MW and LCR. These genes encoded proteins called photopigments, needed in the red and green cones to capture the light and are located on the X chromosome.

On this page we will see what are the genes responsible for color vision, what are the genetic mutations that lead to disease and the history of these scientific discoveries of molecular genetics.

The BCM Families Foundation supports the research of Molecular Genetics on BCM and the creation of a BCM Patients Registry, in order to deepen the knowledge about the genes and the genetic mutations that cause disease.

Molecular genetics of human color vision

BCM is inherited from the X chromosome. As any other chromosome, X contains a long molecule of DNA, the chemical of which genes are made.

The X chromosome is composed of two arms, the upper is called p, the lower q.
The genes involved in the BCM are in position Xq28, at the end of the q arm.
In the figure below we see the X chromosome:

22

In the position Xq28 there are in order, the genes named LCR, OPN1LW and OPN1MW.

LCR is the Locus Control Region, and acts as a promoter of the expression of the two opsin genes thereafter. In the absence of this gene, none of the following two genes are expressed in the human retina. In addition, it ensures that only one of the two opsin genes (red or green) is expressed exclusively in each cone.

OPN1LW and OPN1MW are respectively the genes that contain the genetic code for protein opsin. These proteins constitute the photopigments for the capture of light, red (Long Wave) and green (Medium Wave).

Many people have several replicas of the gene for the green photopigment, OPN1MW. Only the first two genes, immediately after the LCR, (the red and the first green ones), are expressed in the retina. Approximately 25% of male Caucasians have a single OPN1MW gene, while 50% have two genes and the remainder have 3 or more genes.

In the following figure we see a representation of the opsin gene array in a normal case:

Opsin Genes Array

To learn more about these genes, please refer to the web site of the ‘National Center for Biotechnology Information’, NCBI, particularly to:

OPSIN1-LW, red cone photopigment;

OPSIN1-MW, green cone photopigment;

LCR, Locus Control Region.

The gene responsible for the formation of the blue photopigment is in a position far away, on chromosome 7 and the gene responsible for the formation of rhodopsin (the rod photopigment) is located on chromosome 3:

OPSIN1-SW blue cones photopigment;

RODOPSIN rods photopigment.

In the following figure we see the opsin proteins, the blue ‘S’ (short), the green ‘M’ (medium) and the red ‘L’ (Long) one.

OPSIN Genes

OPSIN Genes – Picture is taken from handprint.com

They take the form of a chain passing 7 times through a disk of the outer segment of a cone. The three proteins are very similar between them and, in particular, the M and L differ only in some elements that compose them. The two photopigments, red and green are in fact equal to 96%, while they have only a 46% similarity with the blue photopigment.

The genes OPN1LW and OPN1MW, like all genes, are formed by exons and introns. In particular both of these genes have six exons, referred to as 1 to 6.

Opsin Gene Array - Exons

(Picture is taken from Jessica C. Gardner, Michel Michaelides, Graham E. Holder, Naheed Kanuga, Tom R. Webb, John D. Mollon, Anthony T. Moore, Alison J. Hardcastle ‘Blue cone monochromacy: Causative mutations and associated phenotypesMolecular Vision 2009; 15:876-884).

Like all proteins, the opsin proteins are three-dimensional structures that need to perform a ‘folding‘ to assume their final three-dimensional shape. Some specific amino acids within the protein are responsible for the folding of the same.

The Genetic Mutations

There are many genetic mutations that can affect this group of genes, LCR, OPN1LW and OPN1MW.

Some mutations lead to conditions commonly called ‘color blindness’, having as its only effect the inability to distinguish certain colors.

Mutations that lead to the BCM to date identified are the following:

Large deletions

1.
Deletion of the LCR, or deletion of the LCR and some or all of the exons of the gene OPN1LW.

This mutation is an absence of a large part of the genetic material. Since there isn’t the genetic code for LCR the two opsin proteins will not express and the cones will haven’t the red and green photopigments.

2.
Intragenic deletion. This is a deletion of exons within the genes OPN1LW and OPN1MW or deletion of genetic material of the first and of the second gene.

Even this mutation is an absence of a large part of the genetic material.

BCM Mutationes

Mechanism in 2 steps with homologous recombination and punctual inactivation.

In this case, due to the similarity between the two genes OPN1LW and OPN1MW, during a process of ‘homologous recombination’ one of the two genes is lost with the creation of an hybrid gene. Subsequently, a point mutation inactivates the remained gene.

The point mutation best known is the so-called C203R. The name of the point mutations indicates the position at which mutation has occurred, in this case the amino acid position 203 and which has been replaced, in this case a C = Cysteine with an R = Arginine. At the level of codons this substitution is timely because it corresponds to replace thymine with cytosine in position 648, as we see from the following table:

17

The C203R mutation causes the opsin protein once formed does not carry the folding, that is it doesn’t take the proper three-dimensional form.

C203R Mutation


Diagram representing BCM genotypes of 3 British families. The wild type L-M opsin gene array is shown at the top of the figure. Gray boxes represent L opsin exons and white boxes represent M opsin exons.
Subscript n represents one or more M opsin genes. The black box represents the Locus Control Region, LCR. The LCR was present without mutation in all three families. The C203R point mutations detected in Family 1 and Family 3 are shown above the corresponding exons. Family 1 has an inactive hybrid gene followed by a second gene in the array. Three possible structures of this second inactive gene are shown in the bracket.
Family 2 has a single nonfunctional hybrid gene lacking exon 2. Family 3 has a single inactive
hybrid gene.
(Picture is taken from Jessica C. Gardner, Michel Michaelides, Graham E. Holder, Naheed Kanuga, Tom R. Webb, John D. Mollon, Anthony T. Moore, Alison J. Hardcastle ‘Blue cone monochromacy: Causative mutations and associated phenotypesMolecular Vision 2009; 15:876-884).

Other point mutations are the P307L, and R247X. The last one replaces arginine with the Stop codon, prematurely stopping at position 247 the formation of the protein (nonsense mutation).

Point mutations

Model of the red and 5’ red – 2’ green hybrid pigments in the photoreceptor membrane showing the locations of point mutations identified in blue-cone monochromats. Each circle represent an amino acid. ‘N’ = amino-terminus and ‘C’ = car-body-terminus. The amino-terminus faces the extracellular space.
The picture is taken from J. Nathans et al. Am. J. Hum. Genet. 53: 987-1000, 1993.

Other mutations

Other mutations on genes OPN1LW and OPN1MW that lead to the BCM are constituted by a set of point mutations called for example LIAVA. The BCM will be caused by the production of new hybrid gene, like in the previous case, from the homologous recombination of OPN1LW and OPN1MW. In this case exon 3 contains the following amino acids in the positions indicated: 153 Leucine, 171 Isoleucine, 174 Alanine, 178 Valine and 180 Alanine. This genotype has the abbreviated name LIAVA.

LIAVA
Location of amino acid alterations reported thus far in the L and M cone opsin genes. Shaded areas: the transmembrane domains. Circles: amino acid differences and known polymorphism with the more common amino acid (in a one-letter code); arrow: the amino acid change. The codon number is depicted for each change. Missense changes associated with a cone-opsin-related disease that are likely to cause protein dysfunction are on a gray background. The LIAVA haplotype is highlighted in black.
La Figura è tratta da Mizrahi-Meissonnier L., Merin S., Banin E., Sharon D., 2010.

Gene
Mutation
Reference
OPN1LW and OPN1MW
2 steps: C203R point mutation + reduction to 1 OPSIN hybrid gene
Nathans et al. 1989
Nathans et al. 1993
OPN1LW and OPN1MW
point mutation: P307L R247X + reduction to 1 OPSIN hybrid gene
Nathans et al. 1993
LCR
deletion of LCR or LCR and first OPSIN LW exons
Nathans et al. 1989
Ayyagari et al. 2000
OPN1LW and OPN1MW
intragene exons deletions or deletions of exons between LW and MW
Ladekjack et al. 1996
A.Reitner, L.T. Sharpe, E. Zrenner 1991
OPN1LW and OPN1MW
LIAVA
Carroll J. et al. 2004
Mizrahi-Meissonnier L. et al. 2010
Neitz M. et al. 2004
Crognale MA. et al. 2004

Other diseases with genetic mutations on genes and OPN1LW OPN1MW

Another disease of the retina that is associated with the position Xq28 is the Bornholm Eye Disease (BED), with symptoms similar to those of the BCM. It is a very rare disease and it is stationary. For further information you can consult OMIM and the web site of University of Arizona.

Finally note there is also a particular mutation of the two genes OPN1LW and OPN1MW which causes a different disease from the BCM. This type of mutation is W177R and is a misfolding mutation that, if present on both opsin genes cause cone dystrophy with evidence of degeneration and cell death of the cones.

The History of the discovery of the genes of the BCM

Many researchers have contributed to discoveries about the genes involved in the BCM.

We recall the fundamental discoveries of Jeremy Nathans on the genes responsible for color vision:

Nathans, J., Thomas, D., Hogness, D. S. Molecular genetics of human color vision: the genes encoding blue, green, and red pigments. Science 232: 193-202, 1986. [PubMed: 2937147, related citations] [Full Text: HighWire Press]

Nathans, J., Piantanida, T. P., Eddy, R. L., Shows, T. B., Hogness, D. S. Molecular genetics of inherited variation in human color vision. Science 232: 203-210, 1986. [PubMed: 3485310, related citations] [Full Text: HighWire Press]

Nathans, J. Molecular biology of visual pigments. Annu. Rev. Neurosci. 10: 163-194, 1987. [PubMed: 3551758, related citations] [Full Text: Atypon]

Nathans, J. The evolution and physiology of human color vision: insights from molecular genetic studies of visual pigments. Neuron. 24: 299-312, 1999. [PubMed: 10571225, related citations] [Full Text: Elsevier Science]

Deeb, S. S. The molecular basis of variation in human color vision. Clin. Genet. 67: 369-377, 2005. [PubMed: 15811001, related citations] [Full Text: Blackwell Publishing]

In particular, the work that led us to understand the main causes of BCM and in particular the 2-step process with point mutation C2013R:

Nathans, J., Davenport, C. M., Maumenee, I. H., Lewis, R. A., Hejtmancik, J. F., Litt, M., Lovrien, E., Weleber, R., Bachynski, B., Zwas, F., Klingaman, R., Fishman, G. Molecular genetics of human blue cone monochromacy. Science 245: 831-838, 1989. [PubMed: 2788922, related citations] [Full Text: HighWire Press]

Nathans, J., Maumenee, I. H., Zrenner, E., Sadowski, B., Sharpe, L. T., Lewis, R. A., Hansen, E., Rosenberg, T., Schwartz, M., Heckenlively, J. R., Traboulsi, E., Klingaman, R., Bech-Hansen, N. T., LaRoche, G. R., Pagon, R. A., Murphey, W. H., Weleber, R. G. Genetic heterogeneity among blue-cone monochromats. Am. J. Hum. Genet. 53: 987-1000, 1993. [PubMed: 8213841, related citations]

Reyniers, E., Van Thienen, M.-N., Meire, F., De Boulle, K., Devries, K., Kestelijn, P., Willems, P. J. Gene conversion between red and defective green opsin gene in blue cone monochromacy. Genomics 29: 323-328, 1995. [PubMed: 8666378, related citations] [Full Text: Elsevier Science, Pubget]

An important work for the type of mutations ‘Deletion’ of the LCR or LCR and the gene OPN1LW is:

Ayyagari, R., Kakuk, L. E., Bingham, E. L., Szczesny, J. J., Kemp, J., Toda, Y., Felius, J., Sieving, P. A. ‘Spectrum of color gene deletions and phenotype in patients with blue cone monochromacy’. Hum. Genet. 107: 75-82, 2000. Hum Genet. 2000 Jul;107(1):75-82.

For the Deletion intragenic the following works identified a case of BCM with the presence of only the gene OPN1LW (red) without the exon 4:

Ladekjaer-Mikkelsen, A.-S., Rosenberg, T., Jorgensen, A. L. ‘A new mechanism in blue cone monochromatism’. Hum. Genet. 98: 403-408, 1996.

Reitner, A., Sharpe, L. T., Zrenner, E. Is colour vision possible with only rods and blue-sensitive cones? Nature 352: 798-800, 1991.

The Locus Control Region, and its role in the expression of opsin genes, was the result of the following works:

Lewis, R. A., Holcomb, J. D., Bromley, W. C., Wilson, M. C., Roderick, T. H., Hejtmancik, J. F. Mapping X-linked ophthalmic diseases: III. Provisional assignment of the locus for blue cone monochromacy to Xq28. Arch. Ophthal. 105: 1055-1059, 1987.

Lewis, R. A., Nathans, J., Holcomb, J. D., Bromley, W. C., Roderick, T. H., Wilson, M. C., Hejtmancik, J. F. ‘Blue cone monochromacy: assignment of the locus to Xq28 and evidence for its molecular rearrangement’. Am. J. Hum. Genet. 41: A102 only, 1987.

Wang, Y., Macke, J. P., Merbs, S. L., Zack, D. J., Klaunberg, B., Bennett, J., Gearhart, J., Nathans, J. ‘A locus control region adjacent to the human red and green visual pigment genes’. Neuron 9: 429-440, 1992.

In particular, the role of LCR that allows the exclusice expression of a unique opsin (red or green) in each cone, was discovered in the last publication.

For the study dela C203R mutation there are the following research publication:


Kazmi MA, Sakmar TP, Ostrer H. Mutation of a conserved cysteine in the X-linked cone opsins causes color vision deficiencies by disrupting protein folding and stablilty. Investigative Ophthalmology and Visual Science. 1997;38(6):1074–1081. [PubMed]

who understood the negative effects of this mutation on the folding of the opsin protein and:

Winderickx J, Sanocki E, Lindsey DT, Teller DY, Motulsky AG, Deeb SS. Defective colour vision associated with a missense mutation in the human green visual pigment gene. Nature Genetics. 1992;1:251–256. [PubMed]

who studied this mutation and its frequency of about 2% in people of Caucasian origin.

On rare mutations of the type LIAVA you can consult:

Carroll J1, Neitz M, Hofer H, Neitz J, Williams DR., ‘Functional photoreceptor loss revealed with adaptive optics: an alternate cause of color blindness.’ Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2004 Jun.

Mizrahi-Meissonnier L., Merin S., Banin E., Sharon D., 2010.

Neitz M, Carroll J, Renner A, et al. Variety of genotypes in males diagnosed as dichromatic on a conventional clinical anomaloscope. Vis Neurosci. 2004;21:205–216.

Crognale MA, Fry M, Highsmith J, et al. Characterization of a novel form of X-linked incomplete achromatopsia. Vis Neurosci. 2004; 21:197–203.

Some historical research about BCM were:

Huddart, J. An account of persons who could not distinguish colours. Phil. Trans. Roy. Soc. 67: 260 only, 1777.

Sloan, L. L. Congenital achromatopsia: a report of 19 cases. J. Ophthal. Soc. Am. 44: 117-128, 1954.

Alpern, M., Falls, H. F., Lee, G. B. The enigma of typical total monochromacy. Am. J. Ophthal. 50: 996-1012, 1960. [PubMed: 13682677, related citations

Blackwell, H. R., Blackwell, O. M. Rod and cone receptor mechanisms in typical and atypical congenital achromatopsia. Vision Res. 1: 62-107, 1961.

Fleischman, J. A., O’Donnell, F. E. Jr. ‘Congenital X-linked incomplete achromatopsia. Evidence for slow progression, carrier fundus findings, and possible genetic linkage with glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase locus’. Arch Ophthalmol 1981;99:468-472.

Lewis, R. A., Holcomb, J. D., Bromley, W. C., Wilson, M. C., Roderick, T. H., Hejtmancik, J. F. ‘Mapping X-linked ophthalmic diseases: III. Provisional assignment of the locus for blue cone monochromacy to Xq28′. Arch. Ophthal. 105: 1055-1059, 1987.

For the study of cone dystrophy, a degenerative disease caused by a point mutation on both genes OPN1LW and OPN1MW:

Gardner JC, Webb TR, Kanuga N, Robson AG, Holder GE, Stockman A, Ripamonti C, Ebenezer ND, Ogun O, Devery S, Wright GA, Maher ER, Cheetham ME, Moore AT, Michaelides M and Hardcastle AJ,’X-Linked Cone Dystrophy Caused by Mutation of the Red and Green Cone Opsins’.The American Journal of Human Genetics 87, 26–39, July 9, 2010.

Here there are some review publications that illustrate the topic:

Neitz J., Neitz M. ‘The genetics of normal and defective color vision’. 2011 Review. Vision Research.

Deeb, S.S. ‘Molecular Genetics of colour vision deficiencies’. Clinical and Experimental Optometry 87.4 – 5 July 2004.